How to Apply IGAD Media Awards 2023 (Fully Funded)

How to Apply IGAD Media Awards 2023| The Intergovernmental Authority on Development IGAD Media Awards 2023 portal are now open, The Awards are open to all practicing journalists as well as freelancers in the mainstream media, multi-media outlets from the 8 IGAD countries and are citizens of one of the IGAD member countries: Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan and Uganda.

ngaging the media and keeping them informed through robust communication and participation have been given due emphasis as one of the corner stones of IGAD Communication Strategy. Building strategic partnerships with the media is deemed critical to the successful attainment of the IGAD Vision – “A resilient, peaceful, prosperous and integrated region where citizens enjoy high quality of life”. The media in the IGAD member countries, and beyond, play a critical role in raising awareness of the opportunities and benefits of multilateralism and regional approach to address the shared challenges, risks, and threats.

Competition Theme: Cooperation for resilience against drought effects’,

Entries/Awards Categories

Entries shall consist of the following:

  • Print (Papers, Magazines)
  • Audio (Radio, Podcasts)
  • Photography Journalism
  • Audio-Visual (Television, Youtube)
  • Digital (Digital Paper and Blogs)
  • Foreign Media

Program Award 2023:

  • Winning particpants will be invited to a two-day training session on IGAD mandate, programmes, achievements and challenges, which also consitutes a networking opportuinity with peers and with drought centres of excellence.
  • Invitation to participate in some IGAD major events through a journalists’ accreditation process to IGAD. This will also provide winning media practitionners the opportunity to participate in IGAD gatherings, and access content and experts.
  • Certificate and token prizes.
  • Winning participants will be recognised during a ceremony at the closing of the training workshop



  • There is no entry fee.
  • The competition is open to all journalists, freelance or full-time, and independent content producers based in the IGAD region, and beyond.
  • Work submitted must be published or broadcast in media outlets based in the IGAD or beyond.
  • Work submitted must have been broadcast or published between January 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023.
  • Any content submitted in any given category must cover one IGAD member country or more.
  • Competitors must be based in one of the IGAD member countries and must be a citizen of one of the IGAD member countries.
  • Foreign media are also invited to participate in under the Foreign Media window.
  • Only the categories listed for competition are eligible for any news articles, broadcasts single topic or subject etc.
  • If a story series is submitted, all parts of the story series must be entered into competition.
  • Submission of content in national languages is encouraged but must be accompanied with translations and scripts in either of IGAD official languages (English and French).
  • National mainstream languages are: Amharic, Arabic, Luganda, Somali, and Swahili.
  • If a story with a shared byline is submitted, a letter from an editorial supervisor must be provided, detailing each team member’s contribution. Read here

Winning participants will be recognised during a ceremony at the closing of the training workshop to be held in October 2023.

How to Apply IGAD Media Awards 2023:

Interested applicants all submissions must come through the online submission form provided. Click Here to apply 

Application Deadline: July 31, 2023

Leave a Comment