Opportunities for Female Entrepreneurs ( AWIEF Awards 2023)

Opportunities for Female Entrepreneurs ( AWIEF Awards 2023)

Opportunities for Female Entrepreneurs 2023 | Are you looking for funding for your business? or you want to get access to finance being a female entrepreneurs, If yes, AWIEF AWARDS is the answer and you are in the right place. focus attention and read through.

The AWIEF Awards is the  prestigious programme which recognise, honour and celebrate women entrepreneurs and business owners in Africa and across various industry sectors for their achievements and contribution to the continent’s inclusive economic growth and social development.

Read: How to Apply South Africa NYDA Grant Programme 2023

AWIEF (the Africa Women Innovation & Entrepreneurship Forum ) is an award-winning pan-African women economic empowerment organisation that works to close the gender gaps by driving women’s business leadership and entrepreneurship in Africa.

 AWIEF Awards Nominees portal are now open for 2023 edition:

Nominees for the AWIEF Awards should be emerging and established female entrepreneurs in the private business and not-for-profit sectors who have demonstrated outstanding vision, leadership and inspiration in spite of challenges to make a significant social impact and/or become successful in their businesses in line with AWIEF’s core areas of innovation, technology, entrepreneurship, leadership, and socio-economic development.


  • LEARN from high-profile speakers, industry giants and decision-makers
  • CONNECT and NETWORK with key sector players and professionals across Africa and beyond
  • SHOWCASE your business to a highly engaged global audience; interact and gain valuable customers
  • The winners will be announced at a glittering awards ceremony and gala dinner on 10 November 2023 in Kigali, Rwanda, hosted by AWIEF and AWIEF Awards 2023 Headline Sponsor Amazon Web Services (AWS)


The AWIEF Awards covers 8 categories with the following criteria:

1) The Young Entrepreneur AwardNominees must be young female entrepreneurs and start-ups between 18 and 35 years old who have demonstrated exceptional entrepreneurial spirit and skills to build and grow successful and sustainable enterprises. The young entrepreneurs must exemplify leadership in their field and the importance of entrepreneurship to effect positive change. They are inspirational and must have achieved tangible and material success (revenue and number of employees can indicate this).

2) Tech Entrepreneur AwardNominees should be female entrepreneurs who have created an innovative, ground-breaking, and game-changing technology venture or start-up.

3) Agri Entrepreneur AwardNominees should be female entrepreneurs who have achieved significant business success and recognition in the agriculture and agribusiness value chain with evidence of traction and impact on food security and/or environment.

4) Creative Industry AwardThis award recognises the disruptive, creative, and entrepreneurial success of a woman in the film, music, food, beauty, arts, fashion, media, advertising, design, and crafts industry.

5) Empowerment AwardNominees should be women who have greatly contributed and invested in inspiring, mentoring and empowering women and girls, thereby significantly impacting the communities in which they operate, and society at large.

6) Energy Entrepreneur Award

Nominees should be female entrepreneurs in the oil & gas and/or green energy & renewable energy sectors who are operating successful businesses with impact on energy access and/or availability in their communities and countries.

7) Social Entrepreneur AwardNominees should be female entrepreneurs who have developed an innovative, systemic and sustainable solution that directly tackles a social issue, thereby having a transformative social impact on their communities and countries.

8) Lifetime Achievement AwardNominees should be established women entrepreneurs and role models who have demonstrated prolonged and consistent achievements in business, and exceptional and outstanding business leadership. The award also recognises significant contributions made to job creation and the economy.


  • Entrepreneurs, SMEs, and startups from across Africa and its diaspora
  • Government representatives
  • International and development/donor organisations
  • UN Agencies
  • Development Finance Institutions (DFIs) and Finance Institutions (FIs)
  • Investors
  • Business service providers
  • Enterprise development agencies/organisations
  • Corporates
  • Civil Society Organisations (CSOs)
  • Academia
  • Media
  • Persons interested in Africa & International Development

How to Apply

1 Interested Nominees should visit AWIEF portal

2 Register an entrant profile by clicking “SUBMIT AN ENTRY” in the top righthand corner of the page.

3 Fill in the nomination form and submit. Click Here

Application Deadline: 31 July 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *