How to Apply for Commonwealth Distance Learning Master’s Scholarship 2024

Commonwealth Distance Learning Master’s Scholarship 2024| The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK (CSC) provides the UK government scholarship scheme led by international development objectives. How to Apply for Commonwealth Distance Learning Master’s Scholarship 2024.

  • The  Scholarship is fully funded by the UK Foreign.
  •  Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to access training and skills required for sustainable development not available in their home countries.
  • Application Deadline: Tuesday 28 March 2024 at 16:00 (GMT).

The Commonwealth Distance Learning programme is one of three Master’s programmes offered by the Commonwealth Scholarships Commission. It operates within the framework of the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship plan (CSFP) and offers a vivid demonstration of the UK’s enduring commitment to the Commonwealth.


  • A Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship covers tuition fees and study grants where required. Other scholarships, awards, or bursaries that cover the same costs may not be held concurrently.

Commonwealth Scholarship  attracting individuals with outstanding talent and identifiable potential from all backgrounds and supporting them to become leaders and innovators on returning to their home countries, the CSC’s work combines sustainable development with the UK national interest and provides opportunities for international partnerships and collaboration. See more Scholarship

All Commonwealth Scholarships which are funded by the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Department (FCDO) are offered under six CSC development themes.

(i) Science and Technology for Development

(ii) Strengthening Health system and capacity

(iii) Promoting Global Prosperity

(iv) Strengthening Global peace, Security and Governance

(v) Strengthening Resilience and respponse to crises

(vi) Access, Inclusion and Opportunity


  • Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are for candidate from eligible low and middle income Commonwealth countries, to undertake part-time taught Master’s study with UK universities while remaining in their home countries.

Selection Process:

Each participating UK University will conduct its own recruitment process to select a specified number of candidates for Distance Learning Scholarships. Universities must put forward their selected candidates to the CSC by 9 May 2024. The CSC will then confirm that these candidates meet the eligibility criteria for this scheme and universities will inform candidates of their results in July 2024.

Selection criteria include:

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • Potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

Eligible countries:

(Please see list of eligible countries below as stated in the DAC list published in January 2022)

Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica,Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria,
Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia.

How to Apply

Candidates are advised to complete and submit their Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship application as early as possible as the CSC’s online application system will be very busy in the days leading up to the application deadline.

Application Deadline: Tuesday 28 March 2023 at 16:00 (GMT).

Candidates must apply and secure admission to study an approved Master’s course at a participating UK university in addition to applying for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship via the CSC’s online application system.

For more details Visit: Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship

Leave a Comment